Weekend Recap

Wow – what a weekend.

Saturday we were at the wrap up to Kona’s 10 week training class. The “canine olympics” were so much fun. We competed in a team relay (skills centered) event, team trivia and then the fun really started. A musical chairs sit-stay. I’d explain it but I think it would be easier to just show a picture.

The event ended with a stay (sit or down) competition. Kona broke his stay when his neighbor was recalled in – taken out by another black and tan no less.

It was fun nonetheless, and the 1st place team ribbon was the icing on the cake.

Here is his class photo – we happened to be in the “pom” class. Unbelievable that that many dogs can sit still in such close proximity.

On Sunday I had CB entered in the Calgary Agility Association (AAC) trial. I had CB entered in a Standard, Gamblers and Jumpers run just like the last trial. Not like the last trial CB ran. He ran the fastest he has in a trial in a while.

The standard run was first and the first obstacle was the hoop. We definitely need to work on starts because that is where we lost time. He went up to the electronic eye, put his nose past the plane enough to start the timer and then went under the hoop. The rest of the run was fast and he was motivated and was quick thru the chute. We lost time on the weave poles though. This is the second Starters run that we’ve encountered with 12 weave poles and I see that I need to be working 12 as much as I work him with 6.  We didn’t Q but I was so thrilled with how he ran.

Our Gamblers run was a bit of  a mess. Our run was slow and a little chaotic. But our Jumpers run was amazing! CB was really fast, the run was clean and I thought he was quick enough to Q. When I saw the time I was surprised to see we were 8.5 seconds over as he ran so much quicker than the time he was 2 seconds over. But when I thought about it I know exactly where he lost time.

The start – first obstacle was also the hoop and he put his nose in the plane of the electronic timer, started the clock and just stood there, maybe for about 4 – 6 seconds. He was also slow going thru the last tunnel and we lost about 5 seconds in the chute. It was a really great run and I’m thrilled with how fast he was – we are definitely getting there. We’ve managed to build up speed over more than the last half of the course, now I just need to figure out how to get him moving quicker off the start.

Leave a Reply

