Tracking Lesson 4

I can’t believe how long it’s taken me to find a place and some time to take CB for another tracking session. It’s been since Donna’s urban seminar that we last tracked and I wasn’t too sure how he would do. I should know better – this little guy loves his tracking.

Here’s a recap of what we did yesterday.

I laid three tracks at 20, 40 and 80 meters length, all three into the wind and aged them for 8 minutes before we started. The park we tracked in today was surrounded by trees on three sides and I think there was some scent pooling that caused CB to fringe a little. Overall he did great.

The three tracks I laid for CB. Tracks are 20, 40 and 80 m in length.

I should have done Session 1.4 from Sil Sanders’ Enthusiastic Tracking book but I goofed up when I jotted down my notes from the book and took down the track descriptions from Session 2.4. It should have been obvious that I read the wrong lesson as the tracks were to be aged 8 minutes, and we haven’t done any aged tracks yet. The track lengths between the two lessons are the same, but not only are the Lesson 2 tracks aged, there was only one food drop on the shorter tracks and 2 on the 80 m track. This should have been tougher for him considering we haven’t tracked in over a month.

Next Tracking lesson we’ll go back to the Session 1 series, but it did turn out to be a good mistake moving on to a more advance track. CB did great without the extra bait and he actually is following the track.

Leave a Reply

