A couple of busy days

It was quite a busy weekend. And strange weather to go with it. Friday evening was so lovely we went on a walk thru the trails of the Edworthy dog park and saw that the Crocus’ were in bloom with a rampage. Unfortunately I had no camera along and so I planned to go back to the park on Saturday with my Canon Rebel and my small set of lenses to take some detail photos. As is typical here it can change before you know it and Saturday brought with it an ugly snow-shower,  I’ve seen it snow every month of the year here so why should I be surprised.

The crocuses were a little worse for wear from the snow but still pretty. I didn’t end up using my macro lenses and just used the macro setting on my Rebel and my husband took some photos with his point and shoot Panasonic Lumix which actually takes decent photos in low light.

photo take with the Lumix – Auto setting

photo taken with the Canon Rebel XTi – macro-setting, factory lens.

A few weeks a go I mentioned that I was interested in checking out the new Nikon 1 camera. After spending some time playing with the camera at my favorite camera store I decided it was a little gimmicky and that my 6 year old SLR takes way better pictures. In the end I purchased a telephoto lens (an EF 70-300mm) as what I really wanted was more zoom, and if I decide to upgrade my Canon I can still use this lens. I still want a point and shoot to have something small and pocket size but it’s going to have to be something other than the Nikon 1. I don’t want to give it a review here but in my opinion it’s pretty big for a point and shoot and pretty pricy for the quality of photos. So I ended playing with my new telephoto lens instead of using my macro-lenses for close-ups – I love this new lens, it’s bigger than what I thought I’d get but so worth the extra weight.

Weatherwise – today it was like yesterday didn’t happen. This morning it was sunny, warm and we went to another drop-in Patience class, this time with both CB and Kona and since I had out all of my camera gear yesterday I thought I should get out my Lensbaby set (I have the Composer and the Wide Angle/Telephoto kit). I haven’t used these in a long time and I quite like the effect I get even though I had to relearn how to use them and had some exposure issues and forgot to bring the aperature kit along with me today (one of the big reasons I had issues with exposure).

Kona down-stay – taken with the Composer and Wide-Angle lens (F4)

Totally over-exposed photo as I had the wrong aperture disc with me – still ended up with a pretty neat effect and I enhanced the photo iPhoto. Taken using the Composer with the Wide Angle lens (F4).

While the pups re-covered from their busy morning we went and checked out the Pet Expo over at Canada Olympic Park and watched the Dock Dogs for a bit and then wandered the show visiting with the rescue groups and checking out dog stuff in general.

So since my photos didn’t turn out how I’d hoped this morning I was pretty keen (maybe a little OCD) to work with my Lensbaby a bit more and I played with the aperatures and the wide-angle lens some more. Below is a photo of Rocky (our cat) taken just with the Composer.

CB and Kona were then subjected to another walk looking for some good evening lighting on the Crocuses but we were maybe a little late. I used my light meter to figure out my aperature setting  – swapped out my lens to the composer and played around with my shutter speed until I got the exposure I wanted. Took a pile of photos that didn’t turn out all that well but I do like a couple of these.

It’s been so long since I’ve used these lenses that I need to go back to basics with them and just work with the Composer. Somehow I also managed to fit in some Agility practice with CB (rear crosses and the chute) in our back yard, some housework and this post.

Leave a Reply

